Kid reviews for A Court of Thorns and Roses, Book 1 (2023)

Niffler1806 Teen, 15 years old

February 23, 2022

age 16+

Your choice

Okay, im teenage girl, i want to read books like this one. Fantasy books with magic and fae. I want a good story line, like this one, WITHOUT sex. this book is not appropriate.I know people have their opinions, "this is the 21st century" they say. "My child is well educated on this stuff" they moan. Just because your child is 'well educated' that can still lead to a bad addiction. I regret reading this book. and it will be a heavy burden that a carry in my head for the rest of my life. Overall its up to you. But please take this in to consideration. thank you

This title has:

Too much sex

Too much swearing

5 people found this helpful.

Report this review

Vrity Teen, 17 years old

March 2, 2022

age 18+

This title has:

Too much sex

Too much swearing

2 people found this helpful.

(Video) A COURT OF THORNS & ROSES BY SARAH J MAAS BOOKTALK

Report this review

Bookgirl04 Teen, 17 years old

February 22, 2022

age 18+

No child should be reading this book!!!

It is called young adult for a reason and this means at least 18! I read this book at 16 and eventually had to put it down. It was recommended to me on tik tok and by other readers. These people were younger too.It involves Stockholm syndrome and gives children a warped sense of what love is.It allows the idea that abusive sexual relationships are okay. It has a lot of sexual innuendo and some graphic sex scenes.All the reviews that say 12 year olds understand sex enough to read this need to read the book.It doesn’t have positive role models the main character is pushed around and can’t do anything for herself. I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone under 18. Just don’t read it.

This title has:

Too much violence

Too much sex

Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

2 people found this helpful.

Report this review

VermaA28 Teen, 13 years old

October 26, 2022

age 14+

Depends

Honestly i've seen a lot of reviews about the the topic of these kinds of books and I strongly agree . I've honestly got sucked into books and romance and it is not a good feeling and can make your mental health decline. I really understand when it feels like people think you are too immature for a book you really want to read. Although I really like this series maybe I should have waited until high school. It really depends on the certain kid. If you do not already understand romance and you are in elementary school. THIS BOOK IS MOST DEFINITELY NOT FOR YOU. I honestly recommend it for high school. Sometimes your mind and can give you an unrealistic version of what love is. I know i'm almost 14and i'm pretty much a kid but I believe I have a decent perspective on what books can do to you.

1 person found this helpful.

Report this review

(Video) A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J MAAS | booktalk with XTINEMAY

Thebookishhorse Teen, 13 years old

May 15, 2022

age 13+

Too much s*x and too little plot/character development

If you are reading this and have not already read the Throne of Glass series, please go read those books first because in my opinion, they are way better than the ACOTAR series. I read this series after reading ToG because I was dying for more Sarah j. Maas books, and I was kind of disappointed. I wasn’t a big fan of the plot, and I didn’t really connect with the characters. The first book is ok, but the further you go into this series, the more s*x there is. This is definitely not for anyone under the age of 13, and even then for mature teens. Honestly the side characters were more interesting and had more character growth and personality than the main character. It may be because this series is shorter than Throne of Glass, but in ToG I connected with the characters and by the end I really loved them and will never forget them whereas these characters felt very shallow in comparison. If you are here for the romance, then by all means read this series, but if you want a strong plot and deep characters, this series just was not it.

This title has:

Too much sex

1 person found this helpful.

Report this review

xanderokerenameen Teen, 17 years old

April 25, 2022

age 18+

it’s honestly really disappointing, it normalises a lot of really horrid behaviour and romanticises really possessive treatment of its mc, i don’t think younger teens should be reading this as they might romanticise these types of relationships

This title has:

Too much sex

1 person found this helpful.

(Video) Why I'm Obsessed w/ A Court of Thorns & Roses | Book Review Pt 1 🌹

Report this review

strawberries Teen, 13 years old

October 27, 2022

age 13+

Didn’t do anything for me

Personally, I couldnt even finish the book. I got 150 pages in, so i gave it a chance, but I couldn’t do it. Ive read books that are hundreds of pages more than this book, so that isnt really a problem. Its just that the plot got interesting for 10 pages, and then de-escalated. Then escalated for 10 pages, then de-escalated. I just didnt like it. I am a devoted fantasy fan, and it was just disappointing. I say 13 and up because a mature 13yr old who likes to read could definitely read this, even though the text is small.

Report this review

October 26, 2022

age 14+

Depends

Honestly i've seen a lot of reviews about the the topic of these kinds of books and I strongly agree . I've honestly got sucked into books and romance and it is not a good feeling and can make your mental health decline. I really understand when it feels like people think you are too immature for a book you really want to read. Although I really like this series maybe I should have waited until high school. It really depends on the certain kid. If you do not already understand romance and you are in elementary school. THIS BOOK IS MOST DEFINITELY NOT FOR YOU. I honestly recommend it for high school. Sometimes your mind and can give you an unrealistic version of what love is. I know i'm almost 14and i'm pretty much a kid but I believe I have a decent perspective on what books can do to you.

Report this review

brewerlizzy Teen, 13 years old

September 6, 2022

age 14+

Loved the book, recommend to ages 14+

Im 13, I’m about two thirds through the first book. My friend who is also 13 recommend the series warning me about the sex scenes telling me they are highly detailed. The scenes do not bother me at all. If you around the ages of 13-16 I would only read this if you are well aware of what happens and if you are used to reading those types of things. I know that the book gets more explicit as the books go on, but I will continue to read the series with caution. Overall I recommend to readers that are well aware of the subject. Thanks

Report this review

(Video) 19 Year Old Girl Reads ACOTAR For The First Time

agirlwholikesbooks Teen, 15 years old

July 23, 2022

age 14+

Fun Book

I picked up this book solely because of all the hype surrounding it. It was last on my list but became first when the opportunity arose. I thought it was a really good book. There is a fair amount of descriptive romance, but it wasn't anything outside of the realm of what's appropriate for a teenager in this day and age. There is some relatively graphic violence and scenes with a lot of death and gore. Others may have found otherwise, but I wasn't too alarmed by the detail of it. I liked the writing and I thought it was a fun book to read. The book does include a toxic and abusive relationship between characters. The book shouldn't be read by those who aren't mature enough for it. Lastly, I do think the second book redeems the main character more. I'm not sure if this is a spoiler, so if it is, please don't read! But for those who have only read the first one and claim the character isn't strong or respected, she finds a lot more strength in the second book.

This title has:

Great role models

Report this review

FAQs

What age group is A Court of Thorns and Roses for? ›

A Court of Thorns and Roses 4 Books by Sarah J. Mass - Age 17+ - Paperback.

Is A Court of Thorns and Roses for kids? ›

A Court of Thorns and Roses is definitely an adult book and later books in the series have even more adult content.

How smutty is A Court of Thorns and Roses? ›

Oh, and in case you didn't know, there's plenty of really graphic sexual content throughout the book. This series should never have been categorized as young adult. Though it is now considered an adult novel, I will continue to yell from the rooftops that this series is not acceptable if you are under 18 years old.

What grade level is A Court of Thorns and Roses? ›

A Court of Thorns and Roses
Interest LevelReading LevelATOS
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 76.1
5 May 2015

Can a 13 year old read book lovers? ›

It is adults, working through adult problems. Robin I would say definitely 18+ for the graphic content. It's not the worst I've seen, but fairly steamy at times. It's the one thing I wish the author would take down a notch.

Is A Court of Thorns and Roses a spicy book? ›

A Court of Thorns and Roses

With time on his estate, Feyre's feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion, but now it's up to her to stop a curse that threatens both Tamlin and his world. What is this? Maas' popular fantasy romance book series is all about the spicy Booktok books.

Does A Court of Thorns and Roses have Lgbtq? ›

A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J.

By the third book in this ongoing series, one of the main characters (a cis woman) comes out to another character as being gay (or potentially bi or pan).

Is A Court of Thorns and Roses ya or na? ›

A Court of Thorns and Roses was originally marketed as being New Adult, which is what drew me to it. Maas herself refers to ACOTAR as NA, according to Goodreads. Also, Goodreads itself identifies ACOTAR as New Adult on their dedicated page for the genre.

Do Feyre and Tamlin sleep together? ›

After Rhysand leaves, Tamlin decides to send Feyre back to her family in the human realm. On their last night together, they have sex. Tamlin tells Feyre that he loves her.

Was Feyre supposed to end up with Tamlin? ›

Eventually, Feyre and Tamlin fall in love. Towards the end, after sending Feyre back to her home to keep her safe, Tamlin is taken to Under the Mountain because of the fact that he was unable to break the curse put on him by Amarantha.

Why do Tamlin and Feyre not get married? ›

A Court of Mist and Fury

She quickly sought out Feyre's friendship and took over the planning of the wedding as Feyre preferred to delegate decision-making to her due to her lack of enthusiasm for a large celebration and her own problems caused by the trauma that still haunted her since Under the Mountain.

What age is a court of silver flames for? ›

In fact, ACOSF is the only book in the series to come with a recommended reading age of 18+. To be clear: This book is full of super-explicit, raunchy sex.

Is A Court of Thorns and Roses a love triangle? ›

Due to a long-standing familial feud, both Tamlin and Rhysand hate each other's guts—and thus, love triangle drama ensues amidst a series of larger, inter-court battles. However, the nature of Rhys' introduction makes it clear Maas has misled us to believe Tamlin is the series' only romantic hero.

Is A Court of Thorns and Roses worth reading? ›

I absolutely, positively, loved this series. So much that it was (and still is) all I could talk (or even think) about the entire time I read it. It is fun, sexy, heartbreaking, and thrilling—truly, everything I want in a fantasy series.

Is it the book appropriate for a 12 year old? ›

Overall you should not let a 12 year old watch this unless you're absolutely sure your child will be fine with it but anywhere over 12 you're fine to watch it if you would like, but ask you're parent first, it's not my decision. 2 people found this helpful.

Is it ends with us ok for a 12 year old? ›

Suitable for readers 17 and up. Trigger warnings for violence & attempted rape.

How can you tell if a book is age appropriate? ›

Is This Book Age Appropriate? How to Find Out
  1. Look on Amazon. Amazon is probably the easiest place to find age and content information for children's and young adult books. ...
  2. Amazon Reviews. ...
  3. Goodreads Reviews. ...
  4. Publisher's Websites. ...
  5. Common Sense Media. ...
  6. This Website. ...
  7. Epic. ...
  8. Read the Book.

Is Throne of Glass or ACOTAR better? ›

Better First Book: Throne of Glass or A Court of Thorns and Roses? ACOTAR wins again! I actually really enjoyed both of these first books, but I feel like I found the characters in ACOTAR more likeable than the ones in TOG.

WHAT DO rose thorns symbolize? ›

Rose thorns have been recognised for a long time as a symbol of adversity as well as sacrifice. As humans, we like to avoid both these things and we certainly like to protect our children from them. We love to try and discover the thorns and remove them, so we and our children don't suffer pain.

How many hours is A Court of Thorns and Roses? ›

The average reader will spend 7 hours and 12 minutes reading this book at 250 WPM (words per minute).

Is six of crows queer? ›

Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Queer Representation: Of the main characters, two are bisexual and one is gay. There is one major m/m romance and one additional minor queer character.

Can you read ACOTAR as a stand alone? ›

You are willing to read it like a stand alone. The pacing is good and it is an entertainer. The characters (except Feyre) do not have any similarity to their former selves in the first book, ACOTAR. So read them as if they are new characters with the same names given in the first book.

Can I read A Court of Thorns and Roses alone? ›

The final book in the series has a slight crossover with Maas' A Court of Thorns and Roses series, but it can ultimately be read as a standalone series.

How old is Rhysand? ›

He was 28 years old when the War began and it lasted 7 years, so if we add the 500 years from the end of the war to the beginning of the series, plus the additional year from the beginning of A Court of Thorns and Roses until A Court of Mist and Fury we can say that Rhysand was 536 years old in A Court of Mist and Fury ...

Who is in love with Feyre? ›

After a few days in a small cottage, Feyre realizes that she loves Rhysand as he does her. He appears one day and explains everything to her, how he protected Velaris from Amarantha, and the dreams he used to have of Feyre's life.

What book does Feyre almost marry Tamlin? ›

At the end of A Court of Thorns and Roses, it may have seemed like Feyre had everything figured out: she'd nearly died to save Tamlin, and now she was going to marry him.

Do Tamlin and Feyre have children? ›

Nyx was born prematurely, almost three months early because one of his wings had caused a tear in Feyre's stomach, all the healers had said that Feyre and the baby would die along with Rhysand due to the deal he and Feyre had made.

What book does Feyre fall in love with Rhysand? ›

A Court of Wings and Ruin.

Who married Feyre? ›

She is still bonded to the Rhysand, High Lord of the Night Court and obligated to spend one week of every month with him. So far, he has not come to collect on the debt. Feyre is now engaged to Tamlin and lives with him in his estate in the Spring Court.

Are Rhysand and Tamlin related? ›

When Rhysand, the son of the then High Lord of the Night Court, befriended their younger brother, Tamlin, he told him that his mother and sister had left to spend some time alone in an Illyrian camp, something that Tamlin later told his father.

Does Feyre give birth to twins? ›

When Feyre gives birth to her sons they are no more than 5 minuets apart. The boys are both Illyrians, wings and all. They are obviously powerful because of who their parents are but no one quite knows how that power will manifest itself. The twins are almost identical.

Does Feyre feel the mating bond? ›

Yes, Feyre feels the bond between them in a shallow sense - Rhys uses it to “call” her, send emotions to her, etc.

When did Rhys know Feyre was his mate? ›

The brief scene in Chapter 46 at the end of ACOTAR where Rhys “calls” to Feyre to say goodbye and ends up fully seeing the mating bond between them before he disappears.

Are feyre and Rhysand in a court of silver? ›

A Court of Silver Flames is the beginning of a new era in author Sarah J. Maas' bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series. It's the fifth novel in the series, but the first that doesn't focus on its original protagonists Feyre and Rhysand, High Lord and Lady of Prythian's Night Court.

Why is it called a love triangle? ›

History and definition

The term "love triangle" generally connotes an arrangement unsuitable to one or more of the people involved. One person typically ends up feeling betrayed at some point (e.g., "Person A is jealous of Person C who is having a relationship with Person B who, in Person A's eyes, is "their person.").

What triangle love means? ›

countable noun [usually singular] A love triangle is a relationship in which three people are each in love with at least one other person in the relationship.

What kind of romance is A Court of Thorns and Roses? ›

A Court of Thorns and Roses
A Court of Thorns and Roses (2015) A Court of Mist and Fury (2016) A Court of Wings and Ruin (2017) A Court of Frost and Starlight (2018) A Court of Silver Flames (2021)
AuthorSarah J. Maas
CountryUnited States
LanguageEnglish
GenreRomance, fantasy
4 more rows

Which book should I read first in ACOTAR? ›

A Court of Thorns and Roses. A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 2) A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 3)

What should I read first Throne of Glass or court of thorns and roses? ›

In the strictest order, all of the stories compiled take place before Throne of Glass. So if you are a purist who wants to read chronologically, then starting with The Assassin's Blade is the way to go.

Should you read roses or Somerset first? ›

In both "Somerset" and "Roses," a recurring theme is a six-generation family "curse" believed by some and dismissed by others. If you haven't read "Roses," start with "Somerset" and read the two novels in chronological order. If you have read "Roses," you probably can't wait to pick up "Somerset."

Can a 13 year old read a court of mist and fury? ›

But I wouldn't read it if I were under 16 afterwards. Especially in the second and third book sex scenes were veeeery detailed. I really liked the story of Rhysand and Feyre and, to be honest, also their intime Moments, but it's nothing for Kids! It also Shows quite a bit of violence but it's really ok.

Can a 14 year old read Throne of Glass? ›

Throne of Glass is fantastic, and I recommend it to all high fantasy lovers. I think it's better for older teens and adult readers due to the adult content in later books. Plus, there is a war that gets pretty gruesome at points.

Can a 13 year old read Crescent City? ›

This book is not suitable for those under 18. I'm a little disappointed that this is the way Maas chose to up the age bracket for her new series, but luckily it isn't the only way. The plot doesn't lend itself to a particularly adult audience.

How old should you be to read ACOTAR? ›

If you're not very mature, and read books for kids than you may have to wait a bit longer, but appart from that it should be fine! I think it's suitable for 14+, but if younger kids/teens are mature for their age, it will be fine.

Is A Court of Mist and Fury Lgbtq? ›

Cassian and Azriel are both in love with Morrigan. Amren mentions sex with males. This was the perfect opportunity to introduce some LGBTQIA+ characters into this series – with Lucien and Tamlin and Feyre and Rhys all being glaringly straight and cisgender characters.

Is Rhysand in A Court of Mist and Fury? ›

Rhysand plays a huge role in A Court of Mist and Fury. It starts with him being absent from Feyre's life for three months after Amarantha's defeat. He intercepts Feyre and Tamlin's wedding as soon as he hears Feyre's pleas for help through their bond.

Is Game of Thrones book OK for kids? ›

Epic tale but not for kids

Adult themes include: Graphic violence, war, murder, executions, torture, mutilation and war crimes. Graphic sex and sexual acts, incest, rape, gang rape, genital mutilation, prostitution, domestic violence, subjugation of women, forced child marriage.

Is Game of Thrones appropriate for 12 year olds? ›

What is the appropriate age to watch Game of Thrones? Game of Thrones is a series with a lot of scenes of violence, gore, nudity, etc. Therefore it is suitable for people who are above 16.

What books should a 12 13 year old read? ›

Good Books for 12 & 13 Year Olds
  • Watership Down. Adams, Richard, 1920-2016. ...
  • Skellig. Almond, David, 1951- ...
  • Sounder. Armstrong, William Howard, 1914- ...
  • The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. A Fable. ...
  • Al Capone Does My Shirts. Choldenko, Gennifer, 1957- ...
  • The Graveyard Book. ...
  • Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key. ...
  • The Race to Save the Lord God Bird.
29 Nov 2018

Can a 12 year old read everything everything? ›

A great book for most ages

This book is great book for ages seven and up. While that said, a seven year old may not understand the context of the book. But this book is a great middle school read or for elementary school kids.

How long should a 13 year old read per day? ›

According to teachers, students should be reading between 15 minutes and 1 hour a day outside of school (85% of teachers expect daily reading in this range), but most of their students are reading less than the 15-minute daily minimum.

Videos

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR) series review *SPOILER FREE* (all 5 books!)
(Kimberly Kardas)
2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas book review! BOOK TALK!
(Hit Me With Your Best Book)
3. A Court of Silver Flames Book Review!
(Dani and Sarah’s Booked-Out Reviews)
4. here's the entire plot of ACOTAR so you don't have to read 500 pages (a court of thorns and roses)
(cari can read)
5. WTF is A Court of Thorns and Roses? 🌹
(withcindy)
6. Spoiler Free SERIES REVIEW of A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas (& thoughts on tv series!)
(Books with Ange)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Roderick King

Last Updated: 01/09/2023

Views: 5624

Rating: 4 / 5 (51 voted)

Reviews: 90% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Roderick King

Birthday: 1997-10-09

Address: 3782 Madge Knoll, East Dudley, MA 63913

Phone: +2521695290067

Job: Customer Sales Coordinator

Hobby: Gunsmithing, Embroidery, Parkour, Kitesurfing, Rock climbing, Sand art, Beekeeping

Introduction: My name is Roderick King, I am a cute, splendid, excited, perfect, gentle, funny, vivacious person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.